Men's Basketball

Jackson, Ingram Earn MVC Specialty Team Honors
March 1, 2017

CHICAGO - Aundre Jackson (Kennedale, Texas/Kennedale/McLennan CC) and Donte Ingram (Chicago, Ill./Simeon) have been selected to the Missouri Valley Conference specialty teams, which were announced this morning. One day after being tabbed MVC Sixth Man of the Year, Jackson was named team captain of the All-Bench Team, while Ingram was chosen for the Most Improved Team.

The teams, which were selected by the league’s newspaper beat writers, are comprised of a minimum of five student-athletes on each squad.

Jackson, who was also selected to the MVC All-Newcomer Team yesterday, heads into Arch Madness with averages of 14.5 points and 4.2 rebounds per game, while shooting a conference-best 67.7 percent (178-for-263) from the field. That percentage ranks fourth in the nation and is on pace to establish both Loyola and Valley single-season records.

He has scored in double figures in 26 of Loyola’s 31 games this season, six times topping the 20-point plateau. Jackson had three perfect shooting nights from the field this season, including a school-record 9-for-9 performance, en route to 21 points versus Milwaukee.

Ingram was named to the Most Improved Team after putting together a breakthrough season that culminated with earning Third Team All-MVC accolades yesterday. The 6-foot-6 junior bumped his per-game averages from 7.4 ppg and 4.1 rpg a year ago to 13.7 ppg and 6.6 rpg this season. A year ago, he shot 39 percent from the field and 28 percent from three-point land, but improved those figures to 54 percent from the field and a league-best 47 percent from long distance in 2016-17.

Despite missing three games due to a knee injury in early December, the versatile Ingram has scored in double figures on 21 occasions this season, posting four double-doubles, including a 30-point, 10-rebound effort at Drake. He enters the MVC Tournament as one of four players to rank among the top ten in the conference in both scoring and rebounding.

Loyola, which will be the No. 5 seed at the MVC Tournament, opens play in the quarterfinal round versus No. 4 Southern Illinois on Friday, March 3 at 2:30 p.m.

The 2017 MVC specialty teams are listed below.

All-Bench Team
D.J. Clayton, Illinois State
Jarred Dixon, Missouri State
Aundre Jackson, Loyola
Rashard Kelly, Wichita State
Rauno Nurger, Wichita State

Most-Improved Team
Jaylon Brown, Evansville
Armon Fletcher, Southern Illinois
Conner Frankamp. Wichita State
Deontae Hawkins, Illinois State
Donte Ingram, Loyola



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago