Men's Basketball

Milton Doyle Named NABC First Team All-District 16
March 22, 2017

CHICAGO - Milton Doyle (Chicago, Ill./Marshall/Kansas), a senior guard on the Loyola University Chicago men’s basketball team, has been named National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) First Team All-District 16, it was announced today. Doyle is the first Rambler to earn NABC All-District recognition since Blake Schilb in 2007.

The NABC All-District Teams were selected and voted upon by member coaches of the NABC.

During his illustrious career, Doyle amassed 1,606 points, a figure that ranks eighth in Loyola men’s basketball history, and he also ranks fifth in school history with 459 assists. The 6-foot-4 guard fell six rebounds shy of becoming just the second player in program history to rack up 1,500 points, 500 rebounds and 400 assists in his career.

Doyle saved his best season for last, averaging personal bests of 15.2 points, 5.0 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 1.7 steals per game in 2016-17, while helping Loyola to an 18-14 overall record. A two-time Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Week selection, Doyle became the first Rambler ever to earn First Team All-MVC honors this season. His play was instrumental in Loyola earning its first Associated Press Top 25 votes since 1984-85 and he was the only player to rank among the top five in the MVC in scoring, assists and steals.

Doyle was joined on the NABC All-District 16 First Team by Paris Lee (Illinois State), Jeremy Morgan (Northern Iowa), Markis McDuffie (Wichita State), and Alize Johnson (Missouri State).

Loyola finished the 2016-17 season with an 18-14 overall record and over the last three seasons has won 57 games, the most by the Ramblers over a three-year span since the 1983-84 through 1985-86 seasons.

The NABC All-District 16 Teams are listed below.

NABC All-District 16 First Team
Paris Lee – Illinois State
Jeremy Morgan – Northern Iowa
Markis McDuffie – Wichita State
Alize Johnson – Missouri State
Milton Doyle – Loyola

NABC All-District 16 Second Team
MiKyle McIntosh – Illinois State
Jaylon Brown – Evansville
Landry Shamet – Wichita State
Deontae Hawkins – Illinois State
Sean O’Brien – Southern Illinois



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago