Men's Volleyball

Four Ramblers Earn All-MIVA Recognition
April 13, 2017

CHICAGO - Four members of the Loyola University Chicago men's volleyball program have earned All-Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (MIVA) honors it was announced this morning by the league office. Junior middle blocker Jeff Jendryk (Wheaton, Ill./St. Francis) was the lone Rambler to earn First Team All-MIVA recognition.

Already a two-time American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-American in his career, Jendryk has put together another impressive season in 2017 and leads the team with a .445 (216-33-411) hitting percentage and 1.19 (120 total) blocks per set, a figure that ranks sixth in the nation. The 6-foot-10 middle blocker's .445 hitting percentage places him first nationally.

Jendryk has ripped 10 or more kills on eight occasions this season, three times totaling 12 stops in a match, and over the last two contests, the three-time All-MIVA selection is hitting a blistering .615 (16-0-26). He set a career high with 10 blocks in a 3-0 sweep of Ball State on February 18.

Meanwhile, junior Ben Plaisted (Wauwatosa, Wis./Wauwatosa East) and sophomore Collin Mahan (Victor, N.Y./Victor) have been selected Second Team All-MIVA. Plaisted has had a breakthrough season and paces the squad with 3.13 kills and 0.23 service aces per set, while also contributing 1.52 digs and 0.72 blocks per set. He enters this weekend's MIVA Tournament action having reached double-digit kills in 17 consecutive contests, including a career-best 25 stops at Lewis on March 28. This is the first time Plaisted has received all-conference recognition in his collegiate career.

Mahan, an Honorable Mention All-MIVA pick as a rookie in 2016, battled through some nagging injuries midway through the season, but has bounced back for a strong finish. The 6-foot-5 outside hitter has pounded out double-figure kills in four of the last six matches and earlier this year swatted a career-high 19 kills in a win versus Fort Wayne. A two-time MIVA Defensive Player of the Week selection this season, Mahan leads the Ramblers with 1.58 digs per set (153 total) and adds 2.27 kills per set (220 total), 0.22 aces per set (21 total) and 0.56 blocks per set (54 total), while hitting .256 (220-87-520).

The final Rambler to earn accolades from the conference office is setter Ian Cowen (Hilliard, Ohio/Hilliard Darby), who was named to the MIVA All-Freshman Team. A starter in all 27 matches as a rookie, Cowen leads the team with 9.21 assists per set (884 total) and adds 1.24 digs per set (119 total). The 6-foot-5 setter posted back-to-back double-doubles early in the season, doling out a season-high 50 assists, to go with 11 digs, in a win over then-No. 3 BYU. He followed that up with 49 helpers and a season-best 14 digs in a five-set setback to then-No. 5 Pepperdine.

Loyola, which is ranked No. 12 in the latest AVCA Division I-II Poll, opens up 2017 MIVA Tournament action Saturday, April 15, with a quarterfinal-round match at No. 11 Ball State.

The complete list of 2017 All-MIVA honorees follows.

All-MIVA First Team
Matt Szews, Ball State
Matt Walsh, Ball State
Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Mitch Perinar, Lewis
Michael Simmons, Lewis
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis
Jeff Jendryk, Loyola
Christy Blough, Ohio State
Miles Johnson, Ohio State
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State

All-MIVA Second Team
Connor Gross, Ball State
Cullen Mosher, Grand Canyon
Drake Silbernagel, Grand Canyon
Ben Plaisted, Loyola
Collin Mahan, Loyola
Wyatt Patterson, McKendree
Maalik Walker, McKendree
Gabriel Domecus, Ohio State
Driss Guessous, Ohio State
Jarrod Kelso, Quincy

All-MIVA Honorable Mention
Brendan Surane, Ball State
Pelegrin Vargas, Fort Wayne
Sky Engleman, Grand Canyon
Michael Milstein, Grand Canyon
Jacob Schmiegelt, Lewis
Connor Hipelius, Lindenwood
Sam Schindler, Lindenwood
Pasquale Fiduccia, McKendree
Brendan Schmidt, McKendree
Maxime Hervoir, Ohio State

MIVA All-Freshman Team
Matt Szews, Ball State
Nick Lavanchy, Ball State
Pelegrin Vargas, Fort Wayne
Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Kyle Bugee, Lewis
Sam Schindler, Lindenwood
Ian Cowen, Loyola

MIVA Player of the Year
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State

MIVA Coach of the Year
Pete Hanson, Ohio State

MIVA Co-Freshmen of the Year
Ryan Coenen, Lewis
Matt Szews, Ball State



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago