Women's Volleyball

Loyola Athletics Announces Awards At Year-End Banquet

April 28, 2009

CHICAGO - After another successful season of athletic competition, Loyola University Chicago handed out its awards at its annual banquet last Sunday at the Gentile Center. The banquet serves as a way to bring the Loyola athletic community together to pay tribute to the student-athletes and recognize both teams and individuals for their success over the past year.

Several specialty awards were also presented at the celebration. Freshman Walt Gibler was the recipient of the Donald B. Izban Award, given annually to the men's basketball player with the highest grade-point average who, through his hard work, shows an unwavering pursuit of excellence. Seniors Sean Bidzinski (Men's Golf) and Caitlin Brown (Women's Soccer) were honored with the 2008-09 Male and Female Director's Awards, given to the student-athlete with the highest GPA, while the Men's Cross Country and Women's Soccer teams were recognized for posting the top team GPA for their respective gender.

In addition, senior Kaycee Tharp (Softball) earned the Bud Gorman Award, which is presented to the student-athlete that combines excellence in the classroom with a commitment to service in the community.

Complete team-by-team awards are listed below:

2008-09 Loyola Award Winners

Men's Basketball
Most Valuable Player: J.R. Blount
Most Improved Player: Jordan Hicks
Coaches Award: John Benkoske

Women's Basketball
Most Improved Player: Elyse VanBogaert
Hustle Award: Lisa Samplawski
NCAA Record Recognition: Maggie McCloskey

Men's Cross Country/Track & Field
Tom O'Hara Award: Ben Reifenberg
Sean Earl Pheidippides Award: TBA
George Crosby Award: TBA
Excellence in Field: Erik Hernandez
Newcomer of the Year: TBA
Scholar-Athlete Award: Erik Hernandez

Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Leigh Anne Renk Award: Colleen Donovan
Excellence in Field Award: Jordan Rohlfing
Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam Award: Jessie Morgenthal
Reva Bess Award: Nicole Noelliste
Newcomer of the Year: Devin Gosberry
Scholar-Athlete Award: Jordan Rohlfing

Men's Golf
Player of the Year: Armando Favela
Newcomer of the Year: Sean Collopy
Coaches Award: Dylan Gergen

Women's Golf
Most Valuable Player: TBA
Most Improved Player: TBA
Positive Mental Attitude Award: TBA

Men's Soccer
Most Valuable Player: Eric Gehrig
Socrates Boot Award: Kevin Harrigan
Coaches Award: Brad Sommer

Women's Soccer
Most Valuable Player: Cynthia Morote-Ariza
Most Improved Player: Laura Trevillian
Coaches Award: Alexia Murray

Most Valuable Player: TBA
Toughness Award: Stevie Bradich
Spirit Award: Lauren Arceneaux

Men's Volleyball
Most Valuable Player: Kris Berzins
Most Improved Player: Kyle Exline
Coaches Award: Matt Baleiko

Women's Volleyball
Julie McShane Award: Sarah Singer
Therese Boyle Award: Alyse Serritella
Most Improved Player: Natalie Pounovich

Spirit Teams - Cheer
Most Collegiate Award: Alayna Schueneman
Rambler Spirit Award: Jackie Geddes
Most Improved Award: Yasmin Darwish

Spirit Teams - Dance
Best Performer Award: Gabriela Miller
Most Collegiate Award: Jackie Courtney
Most Improved Award: Anne Guion



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago